Two Soups: Curried Carrot and Garlic Tomato

October 21, 2010

My grandmother has (had!) a cookbook called Taste of Home: Casseroles, Slow Cooker, and Soups. I was bored so I went paging through it and found a few recipes I just had to try. I’m so glad I did because they just became new favorites!

Curried Carrot Soup

Image from Taste of Home

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced (I used a little more)
  • 2 tablespoons butter (I also added olive oil)
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder (I thought it needed more)
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger (I also used a thumb sized knob of fresh ginger)
  • 2 pounds carrots, thinly sliced
  • 2 cans (14-1/2 ounces each) Progresso ® Chicken Broth
  • 1 cup half-and-half cream
  • 1 cup water (plus a little to stretch)
  • 1/2 teaspoon dill weed
  • Pepper to taste (and salt, a pinch of garam masala, and about 3 spoons of sweetener)

For the rest of the recipe and to avoid total plagiarism on my part, please Click Here (Hint: it involves a blender). This made about 6 bowls of to die for curry heaven. Mmm…

Then there was this little gem:

Garlic Tomato Soup

Image from Taste of Home

Ingredients:

  • 12 garlic cloves, peeled and sliced
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons olive oil (or a lot more)
  • 1 can (14-1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes, undrained (puree in blender)
  • 1 cup tomato puree (I used the whole can. It was one of the large ones.)
  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano (or a lot)
  • 1/4 teaspoon minced fresh basil (and more)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (more)
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper (plus 2 spoons sweetener)
  • water to stretch

If you couldn’t already tell, I like my spices. I also took a lot of liberties with the directions on this one. I did not feel like roasting garlic in the oven for half an hour. I sauteed the garlic, pureed the diced tomatoes, and skipped blending the whole soup in batches. It made about 5 bowls. Here is the recipe from Taste of Home. This was the best tomato soup I have ever had!

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Two Soups: Curried Carrot and Garlic Tomato”

  1. laundryonsundaes Says:

    Yum! These sound delicious :)


  2. [...] still on a soup kick! This one was inspired by the season. It’s a lot like the Curried Carrot Soup I wrote about, so I wanted to share with you how to make your own curry [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

