Homemade Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup

November 23, 2011

One of my favorite Thanksgiving dishes is the traditional Green Bean Casserole. This year I decided to make it a little extra special with some homemade goodness! After playing around in the kitchen for awhile, I ended up creating my own recipe for Cream of Mushroom Soup. Now I’m sharing it with you to distract myself from “taste testing!”

Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cream
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 4 Tbsp. butter
  • Oil
  • 1 package (10oz) fresh mushrooms finely chopped
  • 12 onion finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • cayenne pepper optional

Directions

  1. Saute mushroom and onion in half the butter called for, with enough oil to avoid sticking to pan after the water from the mushrooms evaporates. Set aside.
  2. Stir cornstarch into milk and add to skillet with cream and butter. Cook on medium, stirring constantly, until thickens. Salt and pepper to taste. Add mushroom mixture.
  3. Add to casserole or serve as sauce over noodles. Makes 2 cans worth.

View recipe at plantoeat.com

 

 

2 Responses to “Homemade Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup”

  1. Cliona Says:

    This looks delicious! I just recently made chicken soup for the first time and it was surprisingly good (surprising because I’m not the world’s greatest cook), I’ll definitely be trying this!

  2. Janet stern Says:

    This is the best cream of mushroom soup recipe I have tried. My husband LOVED it and he hates mushrooms. Every time I make this for dinner guests they rave about it. This dish is wonderful in that is tastes fancy, but it really isn’t…it’s very cheap and easy to make. Only thing I changed was I used shallots rather than onion because I think shallots add a richness that is just perfect for soups. I like that this recipe does not call for you to puree the soup. I like my cream of mushroom soup with big chunks of mushrooms.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

