Learning How to Knit or Crochet

December 10, 2011

This is the blanket I'm working on!

About this time every year I dig out my dusty crochet hooks and knitting needles. Something about the holidays and cold winter renew my interest in these hobbies. Now, with a baby on the way, I’m not really interested in knitting holiday gifts. I’m brushing up on my stitching skills to make all those cute baby goods!

Many years ago, I taught myself how to knit and crochet with a little help from the internet. I’m not naturally gifted at learning crafts, and this wasn’t my first attempt, so I thought I would share what worked and what didn’t. First of all, forget the books until later. They can be very overwhelming and frustrating if you have a problem. The best site, hands down, for learning how to knit is knittinghelp.com. The short videos are easy to follow and review. In less than 10 minutes you could begin knitting your own scarf or hat! You can also ask for help if you get stuck ;) After I learned how to knit, I wanted to learn crocheting, because I read that it was faster for some people. To learn how to crochet, the first three videos on knitwitch.com will get you started! Some people may not learn as well with videos and prefer a teacher to guide them. Ask around and see if anyone is willing to show you!

Now, you may be wondering which craft is better. It really depends on your project, and what type of crafter you are. Knitting generally makes a lighter, more pliable fabric if the same yarn is used. Knitting the English way can also be done while watching a movie. It’s also harder to lose your place or forget what size needle was being used because the project stays on the needles until finished. That being said, it is my opinion that it takes longer and mistakes, almost always take more work to fix. I think crocheting is easier but remember that we are comparing two very simple hobbies. If you don’t believe me, watch the videos! Asking which craft is easier or faster is like asking about cursive or print writing. It really depends on you, and how difficult you want to make it!

If you are ready to get started on a project, I would still hold off on spending any money. There are many free patterns online. A pattern is a good place to start before building up a collection of needles and hooks you may never use. Begin with a simple project and buy the items required for it. The start up cost should be less than $10. Once you get started you will be able to discern which novelties are practical and which are unnecessary.  A general rule I follow is that it should cost less to make my own, than to buy a similar item of similar quality. Ready to hunt for a pattern? Crochet Pattern Central and Knitting Pattern Central should keep you busy!

2 Responses to “Learning How to Knit or Crochet”

  1. mollyandrew Says:

    This is a beautiful blanket, the ribbon is a particularly nice addition. I miss evenings by the fire with our scattered knitting projects and netflix.


  2. I love all types of needle work… I actually made the blanket you are working on for my son when he was born 3 years ago. It’s beautiful!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

