Honey Butter Spread

February 25, 2010

Around here we eat a lot of bread. Not surprisingly, we also go through a lot of butter. I started to worry about the health consequences of this so I checked out some healthier spreading options at the store. When I looked at the ingredients of spreads in our price range, I was very disappointed and put them back. I can’t altogether avoid unnatural ingredients on our budget, but this was going to replace a natural and cheap staple we use all the time. The whole point after all was to find something healthier.

I realized that some spreads which are supposed to have less cholesterol, were basically a mix of butter and oil. I also saw the expensive flavored spreads and realized I could make my own. With a sweet tooth like mine, you know I couldn’t just make a simple margarine. Here’s my version of a honey butter spread:

In a small resealable container mix:

1 stick of soft butter (salted)
3 tbsp vegetable oil
2 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp honey
1 tsp cinnamon or more

Spread on toast and enjoy!

I really like this spread because it extends our butter and satisfies my sweet tooth.  It’s only slightly healthier but at least I know what’s in it.  I hope you enjoy it and feel free to change it around however you like. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

