Apple Pie

March 6, 2010

Today we celebrated Seth’s birthday. He loves apple pie on special occasions but they can be so expensive. I decided to surprise him with a homemade pie. I’ve never made one before so this was a little daunting. To make matters worse, none of my cookbooks had a recipe. Not even a pie shell recipe! I tried to call his mom to get her’s but no one was home. I ended up turning to Google. Online recipes can be unreliable so I usually compare a few, read comments, and then meld my own ideas with their combined efforts. I never really know what I’ll get and I have no one to blame but myself if it all goes wrong. Thankfully, this turned out really well. Now I have a recipe for apple pie!

To make the crust:

1 c. unbleached all purpose flour
1 c. unbleached self-rising flour (trying to use it up)
1/2 c. butter (salted)
8+ T. ice cold water
sprinkle of salt

Whisk dry ingredients together. Cut in butter. Cool in fridge. Add water to make a dough. Divide in half. Cool in fridge while moving onto filling.


Filling:

Peel, core and slice 6 apples. Sprinkle with 1 heaping tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. cloves, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. Stir to coat evenly.

In saucepan heat 2 Tbsp butter. Add 3 Tbsp flour, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. sugar, and a little water to make a syrup. Heat just to boiling. Add apples to pie shell. Pour syrup on top, reserving enough to baste the lattice top crust.


Preheat oven to 450°F. Bake at 350°F for 1 hour on low rack.


Seth wanted a picture to remember how tall it was!

Leave a Reply

