Kielbasa Cabbage Soup

November 1, 2010

This soup wasn’t like anything I’ve ever had before. It was such a sweet discovery! Shamefully, this was also my first time manipulating a cabbage head. Now I know I’ve been deprived! I must warn you about this soup: it will make your family drool long before it’s finished cooking!

Kielbasa Cabbage Soup from the Taste of Home: Casseroles, Slow Cooker, and Soups cookbook:

Image from Taste of Home

Ingredients with modifications:

  • 1 small medium head cabbage, coarsely chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 to 6 garlic cloves, minced (plus garlic powder)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (I needed a little more for sauteing)
  • 4 6 cups water
  • 3 5 tablespoons cider vinegar (plus 3 spoons of balsamic vinegar)
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons brown sugar (I used 4 spoons sweetener)
  • 1 pound smoked kielbasa or Polish sausage, halved, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 4 medium potatoes, peeled and cubed (I substituted with 1lb of cauliflower)
  • 3 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 2 teaspoon caraway seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper (or to taste)
  • I added a can of chicken broth
  • liquid hickory smoke
  • salt to taste

For recipe directions from Taste of Home please click here. This soup takes a little longer to cook but it doesn’t require a lot of effort. I would recommend using a 6qt pot or larger because it makes a ton of soup! Let me know what you think.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Kielbasa Cabbage Soup”


  1. Great soup idea! I like to make cabbage soup, and just about any other soup all from raw ingredients.

    An idea to try instead of adding broth in any soup is to take some of the cooked vegetables and put them in a blender and then add them back to the soup. Dried tarragon leaves taste great in cabbage soup.


Leave a Reply

