Lent

March 8, 2011

There is a blanket of fear spreading over our world. It is turning people against each other in violence, injustice, and hate. You may say that this is nothing new but I feel it growing, infecting my country, my community, my friends. I have taken to crying when I read the news and political blogs; and then I pray.

Maybe you have felt it too.

Lent begins tomorrow. It continues for 46 days, until Saturday, April 23rd. The 6 Sundays are for the celebration of the Lord’s day, making Lent a season of 40 days. Lent can be observed in so many ways. In the past I have enjoyed approaching it like New Year’s for the soul. I like setting goals for my spiritual growth and aspiring to change for the better. Another approach to lent is to pray, fast, and give alms (charity). Given the current climate of fear and hostility growing around us, I think this is the perfect time for a season of petition and spiritual growth.

I lack the expertise to share with you the connection between prayer, fasting, and alms giving, but I have found the following links to be very helpful.

What is the connection between prayer and fasting?
What does the Old Testament say about fasting in vain?
What does the New Testament say about fasting?
Why do we care about the poor?

Want to read what other bloggers are saying about Lent? Feel free to link up in the comments.

I Don’t Believe in Giving Up Pizza for Lent by Kitchen Stewardship
Recreation, Schedules, and Lent by The Local Cook
I will add your link here!


3 Responses to “Lent”

  1. Desert Dreamer Says:

    I am not religious, but I see that Lent is good for the human soul. It is good to spend time in thought, to see what each of us can do to make the world a better place. I, too, feel the growing fear as people are struggling to survive in a changing world. If each of us does one thing to make the world better for all, we can make a difference.


  2. Thank you so much for the links! (both to my site and the others you have posted . . . I am using this as a time of reflection and reading).

  3. Stephs Says:

    I really enjoyed your Lent post, and especially the links on prayer and fasting. I’ve always wondered what the deal with fasting was. Your post was, I think, a God-send for me. Thank you!

    PS – making sweet cabbage tonight…


Leave a Reply

